23 Legal States

New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Laws

New Hampshire Marijuana Laws

Distribution or cultivation includes possession with intent to distribute or cultivate marijuana in the state of New Hampshire. Those who are arrested in result of distribution or cultivation will be punished to the fullest extent of the law based on the marijuana penalties and guidelines in New Hampshire outlined below.

A qualifying patient who has been issued and possesses a registry identification card shall not be subject to arrest, prosecution, or penalty, or denied any right or privilege, including but not limited to a civil penalty or disciplinary action by a court or occupational or professional licensing board or bureau, for the medical use of marijuana in accordance with this chapter, if the qualifying patient possesses an amount of marijuana that does not exceed the following:

  1. Six ounces of usable marijuana; and
  2. An amount of unusable marijuana from up to 6 plants; and
  3. If the qualifying patient does not have a designated caregiver, 6 mature marijuana plants and 12 seedlings, which shall be in a locked and enclosed location unless they are being moved

New Hampshire Marijuana Caregiver Law

A designated caregiver who has been issued and possesses a registry identification card shall not be subject to arrest, prosecution, or penalty, or denied any right or privilege, including but not limited to civil penalty or disciplinary action by a court or occupational or professional licensing board or bureau, for assisting a qualifying patient if the designated caregiver possesses or cultivates an amount of marijuana that does not exceed the following:

  1. Six ounces of usable marijuana; and
  2. An amount of unusable marijuana from up to 6 plants; and
  3. Six mature marijuana plants and 12 seedlings, which shall be in a locked and enclosed location unless they are being moved.

Offense

Penalty

Incarceration

  Max. Fine  

Possession

Any Amount

Misdemeanor

1 year

$2,000

Sale or Possession with Intent To Sell

Less than 1 oz.

Felony

3 years

$25,000

1 oz. - 5 lbs.

Felony

7 years

$100,000

5 lbs. or more

Felony

20 years

$300,000

Within 1,000 feet of a school zone carries a double sentence and fine.

Hash & Concentrates

Possession of less than 5 g.

Misdemeanor

1 year

$2,000

Possession of 5 g. or more

Misdemeanor

1 year

$5,000

Manufacturing, selling, or possessing with intent to sell of less than 5 g.

Felony

3 years

$25,000

Manufacturing, selling, or possessing with intent to sell of 5 g. - 1 lb.

Felony

7 years

$100,000

Manufacturing, selling, or possessing with intent to sell of 1 lb. or more.

Felony

20 years

$30,000

Paraphernalia

Sale or possession of paraphernalia

Misdemeanor

1 year

$2,000

 

New Hampshire Marijuana Possession Penalties

  1. Possession of any amount is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000.

New Hampshire Marijuana Intent To Sell Penalties

  1. The sale of less than 1 oz. is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 3 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $25,000.
  2. The sale of 1 oz.-5 lbs. is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 7 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $100,000.
  3. The sale of 5 lbs. or more is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 20 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $300,000.
  4. Sale within 1,000 feet of a school zone is a felony punishable by a doubling of the sentence and the fine.

New Hampshire Marijuana Paraphernalia Penalties

  1. The sale or possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000.

Persons under 21 years of age will face a driver's license suspension for 90 days- 1 year.