23 Legal States

Michigan Medical Marijuana Laws

Full Text of Michigan's Medical Marijuana Law

Initiated Law 1 of 2008

An Initiation of Legislation to allow under state law the medical use of marihuana; to provide protections for the medical use of marihuana; to provide for a system of registry identification cards for qualifying patients and primary caregivers; to impose a fee for registry application and renewal; to provide for the promulgation of rules; to provide for the administration of this act; to provide for enforcement of this act; to provide for affirmative defenses; and to provide for penalties for violations of this act.

Section 333.26421: Short title.

Section 333.26422: Findings, declaration.

Section 333.26423: Definitions.

Section 333.26424: Qualifying patient or primary caregiver; arrest, prosecution, or penalty prohibited; conditions; presumption; compensation; physician subject to arrest, prosecution, or penalty prohibited; marihuana paraphernalia; person in presence or vicinity to medical use of marihuana; registry identification issued outside of department; sale of marihuana as felony; penalty.

Section 333.26425: Rules.

Section 333.26426: Administration and enforcement of rules by department.

Section 333.26427: Scope of act; limitations.

Section 333.26428: Defenses.

Section 333.26429: Failure of department to adopt rules or issue valid registry identification card.

Section 333.26430: Severabilty.

Offense

Penalty

Incarceration

  Max. Fine  

Possession

Any specified amount

Misdemeanor

1 year

$2,000

In a park or playground

Misdemeanor or Felony

2 years

$2,000

Use of marijuana

Misdemeanor

90 days

$100

Sale

Sale without remuneration

Misdemeanor

1 year

$1,000

Less than 5 kg.

Felony

4 years

$20,000

5 kg. To 45 kg.

Felony

7 years

$500,000

45 kg. or more

Felony

15 years

$10,000,000

Cultivation

Less than 20 plants

Felony

4 years

$20,000

20 plants to 200 plants

Felony

7 years

$500,000

200 plants or more

Felony

15 years

$10,000,000

Hash & Concentrates

*Penalties for hashish are the same as for marijuana. Please see the marijuana penalties section for further details.

Paraphernalia

Sale of paraphernalia

Misdemeanor

90 days

$5,000