Refine Results

Maine Medical Cannabis Doctors and Program Details

Maine Marijuana Legislation: Approved November 2, 1999 by a 61% majority rules by Maine residents. Removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess an oral or written "professional opinion" from their Maine medical marijuana doctor that he or she "might benefit from the medical use of marijuana." The law does not establish a state-run patient registry for maine medical cannabis pateints looking to see a doctor.

ME Cultivation Details: Maine medical marijuana Patients (or their primary caregivers) may legally possess no more than one and one-quarter (1.25) ounces of usable cannabis, and may cultivate no more than six cannabis plants, of which no more than three may be mature. Those patients who possess greater amounts of medical cannabis than allowed by law are afforded a "simple defense" to a charge of marijuana possession.

ME State Program Fee: $0 - Caregivers pay $300/patient (limit of 5 patients; if not growing marijuana, there is no fee)

ME Department of Public Health: Division of Licensing and Regulatory Services Department of Health and Human Services, 11 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333

Legal Marijuana Providers